Celebrating its 20th anniversary, the Slovak Atlantic Commission awarded 23 foreign and security policy personalities with commemorative medals for their contribution to advancing Slovakia and Central Europe interests in the Euro-Atlantic arena.

The fortunes of the Slovak Atlantic Commission (SAC) have run in parallel with the Slovak republic for all 20 years of the Commission’s existence. Established during the first year of Slovakia’s independence in 1993, the SAC has progressed from being an advocate of the country’s integration ambitions to an organisation with dozens of projects aimed at increasing Slovakia’s and Central Europe’s impact in the Euro-Atlantic political discourse.

“The Slovak Atlantic Commission played a very important role in getting Slovakia into the geostrategic and geopolitical position it has today,” says EU Commission vice-president Maroš Šefčovič.

The 20th anniversary of the SAC was an opportinutiy to reflect on the 20-year effort of Slovakia to first become and then to act as a fully-fledged member of the Euro-Atlantic community. That achievement would not have been possible without the hard work of long-term advocates of NATO and EU enlargements, key policy-makers and NGO activists, who contributed with both their time and experience to advance Slovakia’s and Central Europe’s ambitions.

The Slovak Atlantic Commission awarded commemorative medals to 23 figures from the international security and foreign policy realms in a symbolic gesture of gratitude for their contribution to making the success of both the SAC and Slovakia possible:

Ian Brzezinski, Martin Bútora, Pavol Demeš, Ján Figeľ, Mikuláš Dzurinda, Bruce Jackson, Peter Javorčík, Ivan Korčok, Karel Kovanda, Konrad Kreuzer, Miroslav Lajčák, Edward Lucas, János Martonyi, Janusz Onyszkiewicz, Martin Povejšil, Jamie Shea, Jirí Schneider, Radosław Sikorski, Réka Szemerkényi, Maroš Šefčovič, Kurt Volker, Damon Wilson, Marcin Zaborowski.