Transatlantic Security Jam: Securing the post-COVID future


The Global Online Brainstorm

START: Tuesday, 12 May, 9 am Eastern Time / 3 pm CET

END: Thursday, 14 May, 11 am Eastern Time / 5 pm CET 

List of confirmed VIPs and SMEs:

Graham Brookie, Director and Managing Editor, DFRLab, Atlantic Council
Sasha Havlicek, CEO and Co-Founder, Institute for Strategic Dialogue
Toomas Ilves, former President of Estonia
Chris Kremidas, NATO and Political-Military Expert, Liaison to NATO and EU at US European Command
Laura Rosenberger, Senior Fellow and Director of Alliance for Securing Democracy, The German Marshall Fund of the United States
Jānis Sārts, Director, NATO Stratcom Centre of Excellence
Jaak Tarien, Director, NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence
TeijaTiilikainen, Director, European Centre of Excellence for Countering Hybrid Threats
Christopher Walker, Vice President Studies & Analysis, National Endowment for Democracy
John Allen, President, The Brookings Institution
Theresa Fallon, Founder and Director of the Centre for Russia Europe Asia Studies
Thomas Greminger, Secretary-General, OSCE
Frederick Benjamin Hodges, Pershing Chair, Center for European Policy Analysis
Vazil Hudák, Vice-Chair, GLOBSEC
Radovan Javorčík, Permanent Representative of the Slovak Republic to NATO
Shanti Kalathil, Senior Director of the International Forum for Democratic Studies, National Endowment for Democracy
Marina Kaljurand, Member of the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs, European Parliament
Bobo Lo, Associate Research Fellow, The French Institute for International Affairs
Marian Majer, State Secretary, Ministry of Defence of the Slovak Republic
Ana Santos Pinto, Former Secretary of Defence, Ministry of Defence of the Portuguese Republic
Bruno Cardoso Reis, Strategic Advisor for the Minister, Ministry of Defence of the Portuguese Republic
Jiří Šedivý, Chief Executive, European Defence Agency
Patrick Tucker, Technology Editor, DefenseOne
Rand Waltzman, Senior Researcher, RAND Corporation
Brian Whitmore, Senior Fellow and Director of the Russia Program, Center for European Policy Analysis
Imrich Babic, Head of Strategic Communication Unit, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Slovak Republic
Naja Bentzen, Policy Analyst, European Parliamentary Research Service
Benedetta Berti, Head of Policy Planning, Office of the Secretary-General of NATO
Erik Brattberg, Director of Europe Program, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Marta Churella, Research Analyst, Department of State of the United States of America
Henry Collis, Head of Strategic Communication, Cabinet Office, Her Majesty's Government
Vladimír Dzurilla, Chief Digital Officer, Office of the Government of the Czech Republic
Franz-Stefan Gady, Research Fellow for Cyber, Space and Future Conflict, The International Institute for Strategic Studies
Nina Jankowicz, Disinformation Fellow, Wilson Center
Dominik P. Jankowski, Political Adviser and Head of the Political Section, Permanent Delegation of the Republic of Poland to NATO
Peter Kreko, Executive Director, Political Capital
Marianna Makarova, Strategic Communication Adviser, Government Office of Estonia
Lukas Mandl, Vice-Chair of the Sub-Committee of the Security and Defence, European Parliament
Roland Paris, Professor of International Affairs, University of Ottawa
Wojciech Przybylski, Editor-in-Chief, Visegrad Insight
Matthew Rhodes, Director of Programs in Central and Southeast Europe, George C. Marshall European Center for Security Studies
Joanna Rohozinska, Resident Director Europe, International Republican Institute
Niklas H. Rossbach, Senior Researcher, The Swedish Defence Research Agency
Jiří Schneider, Executive Director, Aspen Institute Central Europe
Michal Šimečka, Member of the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs, European Parliament
Martin Sklenár, Head of Security Policy Department, Ministry for Foreign Affairs of the Slovak Republic
Amanda Sloat, Robert Bosch Senior Fellow, Brookings
Jonáš Syrovátka, Programme Manager, Prague Security Studies Institute
Dmitri Teperik, Chief Executive, International Centre for Defence and Security
Jed Willard, Director, Franklin Delano Roosevelt Center
Samuel Wooley, Assistant Professor, University of Texas

PLACE: IBM platform 

The 2020 Security Jam is a three-day virtual global brainstorm on international security challenges, hosted by IBM and coordinated by The Partnership for Peace Consortium.  

GLOBSEC is delighted to collaborate with these partners as well as others involved, including the United States Department of Defence, NATO Defence College, Friends of Europe, the Center for a New American Security (CNAS), Center for Strategic & International Studies (CSIS) and George C Marshall Center. 


This year’s Transatlantic Security Jam focuses on the overarching topic of ‘Securing the Post-COVID Future’. This massive global brainstorm, to be held entirely online, brings together hundreds of experts from all over the world, from politics and the military to civil society organisations and universities, the media and business via written contributions and interactions. The 2020 Transatlantic Jam will feed into a report summarizing the attitudes, perceptions and innovative ideas of our jammers on how to secure the Post-COVID future. Participants in the forums will interact directly with VIPs and speakers from around the world, The Jam’s top recommendations and its in-depth report will be distributed to leaders around the globe. 


The Security Jam will be divided into 6 discussion forums. Conversations will be moderated continuously by think-tankers and experts from around the world. Debates will be broad in nature for the first day, after which moderators will steer the discussions towards concrete recommendations by the end of the three-day online event. Moderators use the in-depth data mining tools of the Jam platform to identify the emerging idea and leading Jammers. 

For more information on this initiative and how to participate, please contact [email protected].



From 12th - 14th, May 2020 GLOBSEC collaborated on a